Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

(Note: Content area on this page may be wider than usual.)

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Geographic name changes

Statistics Canada disseminates census data based on a hierarchy of standard geographic units comprised of administrative and statistical areas. Administrative areas are defined, with a few exceptions, by federal, provincial or territorial statutes whereas statistical areas are defined by Statistics Canada (SC) and it's stakeholders for disseminating census data and complementing the structure of administrative areas.

Due to system constraints, Statistics Canada is unable to maintain certain characters within administrative and statistical area geographic names. This results in a difference between the official names and those used in census products. Below is a list of official names and those appearing in products.

Province Geographic unit Official name Published name

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census of Population.

Newfoundland and Labrador Economic regions South Coast-Burin Peninsula South Coast - Burin Peninsula
West Coast-Northern Peninsula-Labrador West Coast - Northern Peninsula - Labrador
Notre Dame-Central Bonavista Bay Notre Dame - Central Bonavista Bay
New Brunswick Economic regions Campbellton-Miramichi Campbellton - Miramichi
Moncton-Richibucto Moncton - Richibucto
Saint John-St. Stephen Saint John - St. Stephen
Fredericton-Oromocto Fredericton - Oromocto
Edmundston-Woodstock Edmundston - Woodstock
Quebec Economic regions Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine Gaspésie - Îles-de-la-Madeleine
Chaudière-Appalaches Chaudière - Appalaches
Abitibi-Témiscamingue Abitibi - Témiscamingue
Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean Saguenay - Lac-Saint-Jean
Census divisions Sept-Rivières-Caniapiscau Sept-Rivières--Caniapiscau
Minganie-Basse-Côte-Nord Minganie--Basse-Côte-Nord
Census subdivisions Port-Daniel-Gascons Port-Daniel--Gascons
Cascapédia-Saint-Jules Cascapédia--Saint-Jules
Saint-Côme-Linière Saint-Côme--Linière
Saint-Lin-Laurentides Saint-Lin--Laurentides
Saint-Faustin-Lac-Carré Saint-Faustin--Lac-Carré
Métabetchouan-Lac-à-la-Croix Métabetchouan--Lac-à-la-Croix
Ontario Economic regions Kingston-Pembroke Kingston - Pembroke
Muskoka-Kawarthas Muskoka - Kawarthas
Kitchener-Waterloo - Barrie Kitchener - Waterloo - Barrie
Hamilton-Niagara Peninsula Hamilton - Niagara Peninsula
Windsor-Sarnia Windsor - Sarnia
Stratford-Bruce Peninsula Stratford - Bruce Peninsula
Census metropolitan areas Ottawa-Gatineau Ottawa - Gatineau
St. Catharines-Niagara St. Catharines - Niagara
Saskatchewan Economic regions Regina-Moose Mountain Regina - Moose Mountain
Swift Current-Moose Jaw Swift Current - Moose Jaw
Saskatoon-Biggar Saskatoon - Biggar
Yorkton-Melville Yorkton - Melville
Alberta Economic regions Lethbridge-Medicine Hat Lethbridge - Medicine Hat
Camrose-Drumheller Camrose - Drumheller
Banff-Jasper-Rocky Mountain House Banff - Jasper - Rocky Mountain House
Athabasca-Grande Prairie-Peace River Athabasca - Grande Prairie - Peace River
Wood Buffalo-Cold Lake Wood Buffalo - Cold Lake
British Columbia Economic regions Lower Mainland-Southwest Lower Mainland - Southwest
Thompson-Okanagan Thompson - Okanagan